top of page
Search
Writer's pictureSwati Nair

Typical Day In the Life of a Clumsy Architect

As creative and passionate as we can be, an architect’s job can still get a little mundane and aggravating, especially with the incessant number of demands and revisions to be catered to whilst making sure they’re delivered well before the project deadlines.

Here is a comical representation of a typical day in my life as an architect:


  • I begin my day by snoozing the alarm for an additional 15 minutes of sleep which I accounted for when I set the alarm the previous night.


  • Snapping up from the bed keeps me from crawling back into sleep, and then it’s a race in the kitchen to get my breakfast and lunch sorted for the day. Cooking Indian food is a ridiculously time-consuming chore!


  • My multi-linguistic personality makes me jam to different genres of music in the shower which boosts my mood up for the day.


  • My biggest pet peeve is being late, yet I’m always running to reach work on time.


  • At work, I’m welcomed back to a clean desk and a warm cup of coffee, and a bizarre set of demands from clients.

  • My day is as good as my senior architect’s mood, for which the earphones come in handy.



  • The day ends 5 minutes post-working time to prove myself to be a dedicated and passionate architect.


  • I skip back home only to realize I need to prepare another Indian meal that takes forever to cook, and 5 minutes to eat.


  • I head to sleep only to continue working on the drawings in my dreams.


Although I’ve narrated a rather cynical representation of my life, I’m ever so grateful to this profession that keeps me engaged and elated most days, which is the reason why I would choose architecture even if given the chance to start over.


Every day is new and challenging when I have the opportunity to deal with different clients who have distinct personalities and requirements that perpetuate my dedication to exploring my design capabilities.


I can only be thankful for this opportunity and the supportive bubble of people I am surrounded by every day!


© 2020 Swati Nair All rights reserved

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page